Website logo
Home

Blog

Lions coach Dan Campbell said officials told him the TD call from New York was overturned.

Lions coach Dan Campbell said officials told him the TD call from New York was overturned.

The Lions head coach's comments contradicted referee Craig Worolstad's comments after the game. Detroit Lions head coach Dan Campbell said during Detroit sporting events - Show officials during Sunday's game at Chidews City, New York, for Jared Goff's touchdown reversal....

Lions coach Dan Campbell said officials told him the TD call from New York was overturned

The Lions head coach's comments contradicted referee Craig Worolstad's comments after the game.

Detroit Lions head coach Dan Campbell said during Detroit sporting events - Show officials during Sunday's game at Chidews City, New York, for Jared Goff's touchdown reversal.

The Lions appeared to score a touchdown on a trick play in the first quarter against the Chiefs on Sunday night, but the play was overturned due to an illegal movement penalty.A foul flag was thrown shortly after the play.

Campbell confirmed the hosts of "KOPA & Jansenen" and the hosts of "0 Arthur and Jansen".

The Pakhtakor head coach's claims contradicted Craig Insustad's post-match comments.

Wrolstad told a pool reporter that there was no assistance in the game from the replay booth above or from the league office in New York.

The NFL had nothing to add to Teolstad's comments.

The call came in the fourth goal and the goal in the line 1 field at the end '.

Goff running back David Montgomery lined up behind him on the T-field over the middle and tight end Brock Wright.But instead of taking the snap over center, Goff moved left.Montgomery, a former high school quarterback, took the snap in the backfield and threw to Goff, who entered the end zone after a short bobble.

However, after a referee conference, the officials ruled that Goff's move was illegal.On the field, Wrolstad explained: "There was never contact, so it's an illegal move, foul No. 16."

According to Section 4, Clause 3 of the NFL Rules:

It is legal for a T-Formation Quarterback to move, whether he has placed his hands under the center, on his knees, or over the center's body.However, it is a false start if the action is quick and sudden.If the player does not come to a complete stop for at least one full second before the ball is caught, it is an illegal move.

The Lions were penalized 5 yards and eventually scored a field goal with 5:21 left in the first quarter for a 3-0 lead.

Wrolstad was asked why it took so long after the game ended before the flag was raised.

He said, "It's my job to know if someone is blocking his defense. "The person who does what is below is waiting for the player's movement, and we talk to him, we talk to him when he stops when he stops when he goes to the bottom line.

"There was a bit of confusion in our discussion about whether he stopped at the start or stopped at the end and what we were talking about. That's why the flag came so late."

Campbell's comments, as well as the delay in assessing the penalty, add to the perception that the Chiefs are receiving preferential treatment from officials.

In last season's AFC Championship Game, the Chiefs scored a touchdown in the fourth quarter after turning the ball over on a controversial fourth-down call.

Rounding out the division, several Houston Texans suggested the Chiefs take advantage of controversial calls during the game.

Bringing you breaking news with deep dives into Sports, Entertainment, Technology, and Health.

© 2025 Long Play, Inc. All Rights Reserved.